Skip to content

EPS in the News

Hatcher Honored by AAPG

Hatcher Honored by AAPG

Robert Hatcher, distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, was honored with the 2023 Honorary Member Award from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG). The award is given to members “who have distinguished themselves by their service and devotion to the science and profession of petroleum geology and to the Association,” according to the AAPG website. 

“This is a tremendous honor that honors a lifetime achievement of outstanding contributions and is typically awarded to one eminent scientist per year,” said Alycia Stigall, professor and head of EPS. 

Hatcher retired from UT in 2018 after 32 years of service to the university. His primary research interests include large faults, mountain chains, formation and breakup of supercontinents, and neotectonics. With his students, he “views the world through structural geology-colored glasses,” according to his research site. 

Professor Hatcher received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University. He earned his PhD at UT in 1965 and before coming back to the university in 1986, he taught at Clemson University, Florida State University, and the University of South Carolina.

Over the course of his career, he has served in a variety of leadership roles within his field. He was president of the Geological Society of America from 1992 to 1993 and president of the American Geological Institute from 1995 to 1996. He was awarded the first ever Geological Society of America Distinguished Service Award. In 2014, he received the American Geosciences Institute’s Legendary Geoscientist Medal.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.