Skip to content

Faculty

NAME TITLE RESEARCH INTEREST PHONE EMAIL PRONOUNS
Iftekhar Alam Post-Doctoral Teaching Associate Geophysics 974-3665

malam11@utk.edu

 
Jacob Benner Senior Lecturer & Laboratory Coordinator Paleontology 974-6013 jbenner@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Thomas Broadhead Professor Paleontology and Biostratigraphy 974-1151 twbroadhead@utk.edu  
Stephanie Drumheller-Horton Lecturer Paleontology   sdrumhel@utk.edu (she/her/hers)
William Dunne Professor Structural Geology and Tectonics 974-4161 wdunne@utk.edu  
Nick Dygert Assistant Professor Petrology and Geochemistry 974-6022 ndygert1@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Annette Summers Engel Associate Head
Professor
Aqueous Geochemistry & Geomicrobiology 974-0402 aengel1@utk.edu (she/her/hers)
Christopher M. Fedo Professor Sedimentary Geology 974-6002 cfedo@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Estifanos Haile Post-Doctoral Teaching Associate Hydrogeology 974-8340 ehaile1@utk.edu  
Terry C. Hazen Governor's Chair Environmental Microbiology 974-8080 tchazen@utk.edu  
Elizabeth M. Herndon ORNL Joint Faculty Environmental geochemistry  341-0330 eherndo4@utk.edu (she/her/hers)
Robert Jacobsen Lecturer / Teaching & Learning Specialist Geoscience Education 974-1904 rjacobse@vols.utk.edu  
Micah Jessup Associate Professor Structural Geology and Tectonics 974-2366 mjessup@utk.edu  
Linda Kah Professor Carbonate Sedimentology & Geochemistry 974-6399 lckah@utk.edu  
Melanie Mayes ORNL Joint Faculty Biogeochemistry, Hydrogeology, and Climate Science 574-7336 mmayes@utk.edu  
Molly McCanta Associate Professor Petrology and Planetary Geoscience 974-6003

mmccanta@utk.edu

(she/her/hers)
Larry McKay Professor Hydrogeology 974-5498 lmckay@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Michael L. McKinney Professor Environmental Science and Urban Ecology 974-6359 mmckinne@utk.edu  
Jeff Moersch Professor Planetary Geoscience 974-0371 jmoersch@utk.edu  
Ed Perfect Interim Department Head
Professor
Hydrogeology 974-6017 eperfect@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Robert Riding Research Professor Algal and bacterial carbonates 974-9976 rriding@utk.edu  
Stephen Romaniello Associate Professor Isotope Geochemistry 974-8347 sromanie@utk.edu  
Andrew Steen Assistant Professor Geomicrobiology / Organic Geochemistry 974-4014 asteen1@utk.edu (he/him/his)
Colin Sumrall Associate Professor Paleobiology 974-0400 csumrall@utk.edu  
Anna Szynkiewicz Associate Professor Stable Isotope Geochemistry 974-6006 aszynkie@utk.edu  
Bradley Thomson Assistant Professor Planetary Geoscience 974-2699

bthom@utk.edu

(he/him/his)

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.