Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences


Faculty & Staff

  • Faculty
  • Emeritus
  • Research Associates
  • Research Staff
  • Adjunct Faculty
  • Staff
NAME TITLE RESEARCH INTERST PHONE EMAIL
Larry McKay Department Head
Professor
Hydrogeology 974-5498 lmckay@utk.edu
Lawrence M. Anovitz Research Faculty Geochemistry and Archaeometry 574-5034 iz9@ornl.gov
Thomas Broadhead Professor Paleontology and Biostratigraphy 974-1151 twbroadhead@utk.edu
Gregory S. Baker Associate Professor Near Surface and Environmental Geophysics 974-6003 gbaker@tennessee.edu
Devon Burr Associate Professor Planetary Science 974-6010 dburr1@utk.edu
Bill Deane Senior Lecturer Introductory Geology Coordinator 974-0401 wdeane@utk.edu
Stephanie Drumheller Lecturer Paleontology   sdrumhel@utk.edu
William Dunne Professor Structural Geology and Tectonics 974-4161 wdunne@utk.edu
Joshua Emery Assistant Professor Planetary Science 974-8039 jemery2@utk.edu
Annette Summers Engel Associate Professor Aqueous Geochemistry & Geomicrobiology 974-0402 aengel1@utk.edu
Christopher M. Fedo Professor Sedimentary Geology 974-6002 cfedo@utk.edu
Robert D. Hatcher, Jr. Distinguished Scientist & Professor Structural Geology & Tectonics 974-6565 bobmap@utk.edu
Terry C. Hazen Governor’s Chair Environmental Microbiology 974-8080 tchazen@utk.edu
Micah Jessup Associate Professor Structural Geology and Tectonics 974-2366 mjessup@utk.edu
Linda Kah Associate Professor Carbonate Sedimentology & Geochemistry 974-6399 lckah@utk.edu
Theodore C. Labotka Professor Mineralogy and Petrology 974-4805 tlabotka@utk.edu
Melanie Mayes ORNL Joint Faculty Biogeochemistry, Hydrogeology, and Climate Science 574-7336 mmayes@utk.edu
Michael L. McKinney Professor Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Science 974-6359 mmckinne@utk.edu
Harry Y. McSween Professor Planetary Geoscience 974-9805 mcsween@utk.edu
Jeff Moersch Professor Planetary Geoscience 974-0371 jmoersch@utk.edu
Ed Perfect Professor Hydrogeology 974-6017 eperfect@utk.edu
Robert Riding Research Faculty Algal and bacterial carbonates 974-9976 rriding@utk.edu
Andrew Steen Assistant Professor Environmental Geology 974-4014 asteen1@utk.edu
Colin Sumrall Assistant Professor Paleobiology 974-0400 csumrall@utk.edu
Anna Szynkiewicz Assistant Professor Stable Isotope Geochemistry 974-6006 aszynkie@utk.edu
Lawrence Taylor Professor Petrology and Geochemistry 974-6013 lataylor@utk.edu
NAME TITLE RESEARCH INTERST PHONE EMAIL
Don Byerly Emeritus     dbyerly@utk.edu
G. Michael Clark Emeritus Surficial Geology and Geomorphology   clarkgmorph@utk.edu
Kula Misra Emeritus Economic Geochemistry 974-6020 kmisra@utk.edu
Ken Walker Emeritus      
NAME RESEARCH INTEREST PHONE EMAIL
Brian Balta Planetary Geology 974-3874 jbalta@utk.edu
Peter Barry Geochemistry, rare gases 974-6023 peter.barry@utk.edu
Chu-Lin "Mike" Cheng Hydrogeology 974-2366 ccheng7@utk.edu
Geoffrey Howarth Petrologist and Geochemist 974-6023 ghowarth@utk.edu
Sean Lindsay Planetary Geology, Comet Mineralogy 974-2699 slindsay@utk.edu
John Pernet-Fisher Geochemistry 974-6024 jpf@utk.edu
Noemi Pinilla-Alonso Planetary Geology, Spectroscopy 974-2699 npinilla@utk.edu
Andrea M. Rocha Microbial Ecology and Bioinformatics 469-285-0355 arocha1@utk.edu
Ben Rozitis Planetary Geology, Asteroid Thermosphysics 865-974-0821 brozitis@utk.edu
Stephen M. Techtmann Microbial Ecology and Physiology 301-938-4992 stechtma@utk.edu
Fabio Tosti Microbial Carbonates 865-974-0821 ftosti@utk.edu
NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Anthony Faiia Stable Isotope Lab Manager 974-2366 afaiia@utk.edu
Julian L. Fortney Microbial Ecology and Field Sampling 510-847-0353 jlfortney@utk.edu
Dominique C. Joyner Microbial Ecology and Lab Manager 974-7836 dcjoyner@utk.edu
Allan Patchen Microprobe Technician 974-9457 apatchen@utk.edu
Audrey Paterson Geochemistry Lab Manager 974-4637 apaters1@utk.edu
Dawn Taylor, Ph.D. Research Assoc. 974-6022 dstaylor@utk.edu
NAME (AFFILIATION) RESEARCH INTERST PHONE EMAIL
Julie Bartley
(Gustavus Adolphus)
Sedimentology, Paleontology 507-933-7307 jbartley@gustavus.edu
Gary Bible
(Cougar Dome, LLC)
Petroleum Geology & Resource Development 423-215-1857 garybible11@gmail.com
Hassina Bilheux
(ORNL)
Neutron Imaging 384-9630 bilheuxhn@ornl.gov
Burt Carter
(Georgia Southwestern)
Paleontology / Paleoecology 229-931-2325 noid@gsw.edu
David Cole
(Ohio State)
CO2 Sequestration, Geochemistry, Nanoscience 614-688-7407 cole.618@osu.edu
Steven Driese
(Baylor)
Paleopedology, Sedimentology 254-710-2361 steven_driese@baylor.edu
David Finkelstein
(UMASS)
Biogeochemistry, Limnogeology, Stable Isotopes 413-545-1913 dfink@geo.umass.edu
Alice Layton
(University of Tennessee)
Environmental Biotechnology 974-8072 alayton@utk.edu
Peter Lemiszki
(Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation)
Environmental Geology 865-594-6200 Peter.Lemiszki@tn.gov
Zhenghua Li
(NASA Marshall)
Isotope Geochemistry 256-961-7655 zheng-hua.li@nasa.gov
Timothy McCoy
(Smithsonian Institute)
Meteorite Mineralogy and Petrology 202-633-2206 mccoyt@si.edu
David Mittlefehldt
(NASA JSC)
HED Meteorites 281-483-5043 david.w.mittlefehldt@nasa.gov
Scott Murchie
(JHU/APL)
Hyperspectral Imaging 240-228-6235 scott.murchie@jhuapl.edu
Ryan Otter
(Middle Tennessee State)
Environmental Toxicology 615-898-2063 rrotter@mtsu.edu
Tommy Phelps
(ORNL)
Biogeochemistry, Deep Subsurface 865-574-7290 phelpstj1@ornl.gov
Johnny Waters
(Appalachian State)
Paleontology 828-262-7820 watersja@appstate.edu
Richard Williams
(University of Tennessee)
Geophysics   rick@utk.edu
Melody Branch
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
1412 Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-1410
Phone: (865) 974-5498
Email: mbranch@utk.edu
Teresa Parrott
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
1412 Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-1410
Phone: (865) 974-2367
Email: tmathes@utk.edu
Nancy Meadows
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
1412 Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-1410
Phone: (865) 974-2238
Email: damama@utk.edu
Angie Staley
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
1412 Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-1410
Phone: (865) 974-2366
Email: astaley@utk.edu


 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to EPS.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System